New Speakers Added to Distinguished Lectureship Program Roster for 2018-2019

BLOOMINGTON, IN—The Organization of American Historians appointed 26 new speakers to its prestigious Distinguished Lectureship Program earlier this month. These scholars, who are affiliated with some of the nation’s top universities, join nearly 600 other OAH Distinguished Lecturers who speak to audiences across the country each year and are widely sought for appearances at museums, libraries, universities, community centers, churches and synagogues, and other venues.
OAH Distinguished Lecturers promote understanding and appreciation of all facets of U.S. history from the 1600s through the present, which is an essential component of the organization’s mission.
According to Katherine M. Finley, the OAH's executive director, the speaking fees earned by the speakers are an important part of the organization's non-dues revenue stream. “In these turbulent times, the Distinguished Lectureship Program provides an important service to communities and institutions. We thank these historians for their service to the organization and their efforts to increase the public's understanding of American history and to help OAH achieve its mission,” she said. “And we congratulate them on achieving this high honor.”

New OAH Distinguished Lecturers, 2018-2019

  • Heidi L. Ardizzone
  • Keisha N. Blain
  • Sarah Bridger
  • Jennifer Brier
  • Adrian Burgos Jr.
  • Deirdre Cooper Owens
  • Seth Cotlar
  • Catherine Denial
  • Marisa J. Fuentes
  • Malick W. Ghachem
  • Melanie Gustafson
  • Matthew Pratt Guterl
  • Daniel R. Kerr
  • Erika Lee
  • Jen Manion
  • Louis P. Masur
  • Micki McElya
  • Denise Meringolo
  • Khalil G. Muhammad
  • Tyler Priest
  • Jacki Thompson Rand
  • Alex M. Saragoza
  • LaKisha Michelle Simmons
  • Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor
  • Joe William Trotter Jr.
  • Jessica Wang

For a complete list of participating speakers and topics, information about costs and scheduling, reviews,and upcoming lectures, visit, call 812.855.7311, or e-mail


Founded in 1907, the Organization of American Historians (OAH) is the world's largest professional association dedicated to American history scholarship. With more than 7,500 members from the U.S. and abroad, OAH promotes excellence in the scholarship, teaching, and presentation of American history, encouraging wide discussion of historical questions and equitable treatment of history practitioners. It publishes the quarterly Journal of American History, the leading scholarly publication and journal of record in the field of American history for more than nine decades. It also publishes The American Historian magazine. Formerly known as the Mississippi Valley Historical Association, the association became the OAH in 1965 to reflect a broader scope focusing on national studies of American history. Its national headquarters are located in the historic Raintree House on Indiana University's Bloomington campus. For information, visit, e-mail, or call 812.855.7311.

Posted: April 24, 2018
Tagged: OAH Press Releases, Lectureship / Speakers, News of the Organization