New Speakers Added to Distinguished Lectureship Program Roster For 2016-2017

BLOOMINGTON, IN—The Organization of American Historians appointed 78 new speakers to its prestigious Distinguished Lectureship Program earlier this month.

These scholars, who are affiliated with some of the nation's top universities, join more than 400 other OAH Distinguished Lecturers who speak to audiences across the country each year and are widely sought for appearances at museums, libraries, universities, community centers, churches and synagogues, and other venues.

OAH Distinguished Lecturers promote understanding and appreciation of all facets of U.S. history from the 1600s through the present, which is an essential component of the organization's mission.

According to Katherine M. Finley, the OAH's executive director, the speaking fees earned by the speakers are an important part of the organization's non-dues revenue stream. "We thank these historians for their service to the organization and for helping advance our mission," she said. "And we congratulate them on achieving this high honor."

New OAH Distinguished Lecturers, 2016-2017

  • Christopher Agee - University of Colorado Denver
  • Joyce Antler - Brandeis University
  • Christian G. Appy - University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Jean Baker - Goucher College
  • Matthew L. Basso - University of Utah
  • Dan Berger - University of Washington Bothell, University of Washington Seattle
  • Wallace Best - Princeton University
  • W. Jeffrey Bolster - University of New Hampshire
  • Ann D. Braude - Harvard University
  • Kathleen M. Brown - University of Pennsylvania
  • Cathleen D. Cahill - University of New Mexico
  • David Anthony Chang - University of Minnesota
  • Jane E. Dailey - University of Chicago
  • Rebecca L. Davis - University of Delaware
  • Tracey Deutsch - University of Minnesota
  • Rachel Devlin - Rutgers University
  • Erika Doss - University of Notre Dame
  • Crystal N. Feimster - Yale University
  • Ruth Feldstein - Rutgers University-Newark
  • Miriam Frank - New York University
  • Paul A. Gilje - University of Oklahoma
  • Richard Godbeer - Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Eliga H. Gould - University of New Hampshire
  • Julie Greene - University of Maryland, College Park
  • Patrick Griffin - University of Notre Dame
  • Kali Nicole Gross - University of Texas at Austin
  • Michael Grossberg - Indiana University
  • Thomas A. Guglielmo - George Washington University
  • J. William Harris - University of New Hampshire
  • Hendrik Hartog - Princeton University and the New-York Historical Society
  • Nancy A. Hewitt - Rutgers University
  • Allyson Hobbs - Stanford University
  • Pippa Holloway - Middle Tennessee State University
  • Susan Lee Johnson - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Andrew W. Kahrl - University of Virginia
  • Kathi Kern - University of Kentucky
  • Jennifer Lisa Klein - Yale University
  • Meredith H. Lair - George Mason University
  • Clarence Lang - University of Kansas
  • Adriane Lentz-Smith - Duke University
  • Jessica M. Lepler - University of New Hampshire
  • Walter M. Licht - University of Pennsylvania
  • Mary Ting Yi Lui - Yale University
  • Elizabeth Lunbeck - Harvard University
  • Lisa G. Materson - University of California, Davis
  • Serena Mayeri - University of Pennsylvania
  • Laura McEnaney - Whittier College
  • Jennifer Mittelstadt - Rutgers University
  • Premilla Nadasen - Barnard College, Columbia University
  • Andrew Needham - New York University
  • Kathryn Olmsted - University of California, Davis
  • Annelise Orleck - Dartmouth College
  • Susan J. Pearson - Northwestern University
  • Carla G. Pestana - University of California, Los Angeles
  • Stephen Pitti - Yale University
  • Sherie M. Randolph - University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Jennifer Eden Ratner-Rosenhagen - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Andrés Reséndez - University of California, Davis
  • Naomi Rogers - Yale University
  • Andrea Sachs - St. Paul Academy and Summit School
  • Beryl E. Satter - Rutgers University-Newark
  • Leslie A. Schwalm - University of Iowa
  • Christina Simmons - University of Windsor
  • Nikhil Singh - New York University
  • James T. Sparrow - University of Chicago
  • Amy Dru Stanley - University of Chicago
  • Landon R. Storrs - University of Iowa
  • Susan Strasser - University of Delaware
  • Lisa Tetrault - Carnegie Mellon University
  • Phil Tiemeyer - Philadelphia University
  • Samuel Truett - University of New Mexico
  • John Harley Warner - Yale University
  • Louis S. Warren - University of California, Davis
  • Judith Weisenfeld - Princeton University
  • Barbara Y. Welke - University of Minnesota
  • Shannen Dee Williams - University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Mabel O. Wilson - Columbia University
  • Michael Zakim - Tel Aviv University

For a complete list of participating speakers and topics, information about costs and scheduling, reviews, and upcoming lectures, visit, call 812.855.7311, or e-mail

# # #

Founded in 1907, the Organization of American Historians (OAH) is the world's largest professional association dedicated to American history scholarship. With more than 7,800 members from the U.S. and abroad, OAH promotes excellence in the scholarship, teaching, and presentation of American history, encouraging wide discussion of historical questions and equitable treatment of history practitioners. It publishes the quarterly Journal of American History, the leading scholarly publication and journal of record in the field of American history for more than nine decades. It also publishes The American Historian magazine. Formerly known as the Mississippi Valley Historical Association (MVHA), the association became the OAH in 1965 to reflect a broader scope focusing on national studies of American history. The OAH national headquarters are located in the historic Raintree House on Indiana University's Bloomington campus. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Posted: May 15, 2016
Tagged: OAH Press Releases, Lectureship / Speakers, News of the Organization